• The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA), Discoverers Award for the development of a vaccine effective against HPV and Cervical Cancer (GARDASIL), with Eliav Barr and Kathrin Jansen in 2009.

  • American Institute of Chemical Engineering (AIChE), named as one of the "One Hundred Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era" as part of the AIChE Centennial celebration in Philadelphia in 2008.

  • American Chemical Society (ACS), Marvin Johnson Award for Lifetime Achievement in Biotechnology in 2008.

  • Merck & Co, Inc,  Board of Directors Award for leading process development for licensure of four new vaccines in 2007.

  • UK Institute of Chemical Engineering, Donald Medal for outstanding contributions to Biotechnology in 2002.

  • University College London, elected Fellow in 1998.

  • National Academy of Engineering, elected as member in 1997.